Project 31: Day 7

This post may be superfluous now that Carina has given us a fabulous idea for storing all your plastic bags, but I thought I’d share what I’ve done. When we got married, we had to do quite a bit of rearranging and organizing to fit both our selves and our stuffs in our cozy little apartment. Our front closet, however, did not see such attention. Finally, we got around to going through what was in it, getting rid of what needed to be, moving what went elsewhere, and rearranging what remained. But my primary priority was to find a solution to all the plastic grocery bags. Hundreds of them, filling up an entire shelf. So I recalled the bag dispenser that Grandma Branks has and which I always thought was pretty cool. I took an old kitchen towel, sewed elastic along each end, then sewed the long sides together, making a long tube. All that was left was to fill it with bags and get rid of the rest! It only took a few minutes and freed up an entire shelf in our closet!

2015-01-07_17-59-59_820

Add a ribbon to the top and hang!

5 thoughts on “Project 31: Day 7

  1. Not to create a spirit of competition or hard feelings or anything, but I think I’m actually going to do this one instead! Mostly because I have more room on my pantry wall than under my sink. Plus, maybe I can have Julia do this on her machine? Did you hand sew it or use a machine?

  2. This is great! It would work way better in a bathroom closet or something… I felt so free to throw away all the extras that didn’t fit – when will I actually need all those plastic bags!?

Leave a comment